Tomato Avocado Basil Salad

There is beauty in simplicity. I try to live my life in that vein, not just with cooking. This couldn’t be simpler and it’s so delicious, not to mention nutritious as well.

I love how a few simple ingredients can turn into the most delicious meal or dessert. I want to share a simple lunch I just threw together for myself and a friend. (because it’s always more fun to share!) It’s one of my favorites especially at this time of year. In a few months the heirloom tomatoes I love so much will be plentiful on the organic farm cart at Misty Acres around the corner from where I live.

There is nothing like picking up fesh or-ganic veggies picked that day. All winter long I look forward to seeing the cart packed with fresh, colorful vegetables.

Ingredients :                         

2 Avocados

2 Fresh tomatoes

4 large basil leaves

wedge of fresh lemon (optional)

Freshly ground pepper

Pinch sea salt (optional)

Garlic powder

The juice from the tomatoes allows you to leave out mayo or a dressing if you want to keep the calories down.

1) Chop avocados, tomatoes and basil

2) Add seasonings to taste

3) Mangia

                             This made enough for 2 stuffed pitas for me and my friend!

Some Options:

*Put mixture over chopped romaine – makes a nice hearty salad and adds a nice crunch

*Stuff in a toasted/non toasted pita pocket

*Put in a warm taco shell w/or w/out chicken/ and a dab of sour cream or alternative

*Add fresh chopped red bell pepper and black beans (eat as is) or add to a warm taco shell or wrap in a whole grain tortilla.

*Enjoy with a healthy chip or toast your pita and cut in triangles as the chip for an even healthier snack

Note: You can always use fresh garlic in place of the powder.

FYI…ripe avocados will keep for 4-5 days in fridge. Unripe will never ripen in the fridge.



      

2 thoughts on “Tomato Avocado Basil Salad

Leave a Reply

